Someday (먼 후일) – Kim So-wol (김소월)

IMG_1456

먼 후일

김소월

먼 훗날 당신이 찾으시면
그 때에 내말이 ‘잊었노라’

당신이 속으로 나무라면
‘무척 그리다가 잊었노라’

그래도 당신이 나무라면
‘믿기지 않아서 잊었노라’

오늘도 어제도 아니 잊고
먼 훗날 그 때에 ‘잊었노라’

Someday – Kim So Wol

Someday if you find me

Then I say, “I forgot”

If you scold me in mind,

“I forgot after years of lament”

If you still scold me,

“I couldn’t believe it”

I didn’t forget yesterday nor today

But someday I will forget you.

Mr. Kim is one of the most prominent poets in Korean history of literature, and he indeed lead a new current of expressing his emotions effectively in his poems. His poems are common in the characteristic that his real emotions are protruded out, and little symbols or imagery play comparatively small roles to supplement his intentions. This poem also seems to have similar traits.

1. Irony

: Mr. Kim uses irony, or a sort of paradox in the poem. It said that he had already forgotten his lover, but as his monologue continues on, it seems that he is having a hard time trying to remove the memories out of his mind. This irony puts emphasis on his sincerity towards the lover which still cannot be ignored despite the painful efforts made by the poet.  As the poem maintains its structure of talking to the lover, it can be said that he is telling a ‘sad lie’ to her, trying to escape from the reality.

2. Structure

: As mentioned briefly above, the poem is in a narrative tone of the poet himself, telling his feelings to the lover. We, as readers, do not know whether he actually told these things before her, or just a monologue. But either way his sadness of losing a loved one is explained greatly, maintaining the sincere tone of the narrator.

3. Tone

:

Leave a comment